This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience.
Find out more on how we use cookies in our privacy policy.



The Celts are the first known to have settled in this place, which they called Binge, meaning rift. Roman troops stationed here in the first century AD rendered the local name as Bingium in Latin.

Brothers active in Bingium


Mithraic monuments of Bingium


Mithräum II von Bingen

A possible Mithraeum II was found in Bingen, but the few remains are not sufficient to prove it.

CIMRM 1245


Mithraic Sol altar with backlight of Bingen

The altar of the Sun god belongs to the typology of the openwork altar to be illuminated from behind.

CIMRM 1241


Altar with inscription of Bingen

The monument was dedicated by two brothers, one of them being the Pater of his community.

CIMRM 1243


Petrogeny of Bingen

This sculpture of Mithras born from a rock was found in 1922 together with two altars in what was probably a mithraeum.

CIMRM 1240


Altar without inscription of Bingem

This small monument without inscription was found in Bingem, Germany.

CIMRM 1244

Inscriptions of Bingium

In h(onorem) d(omus) d(ivinae) Soli / invicto Mitrae (sic!) / aram Privati Se/cundinus et Ter/tinus et Confinis / ex voto Privati / Tertini v(otum) s(olverunt) l(aeti) l(ibentes) m(erito)

Mithraic Sol altar with backlight of Bingen

In h(onorem) d(omus) d(ivinae) / deo invicto / Mytrhe (sic!) ara/m ex voto dei / de suo impen/dio instituer(unt) / A(ulus) Gratius Iuven/is pater sacroru/m et A(ulus) Gratius Po/tens m(iles) l(egionis) XXII mat/rica[ri]us fratres / dedic[aver]unt co(n)s(ule) Afri(cano).
In honour of the divine house, to the invincible god Mithras, the altar, following a vow to the god, at their own expense, Aulus Gratius Iuvenis, Fathers of the Rites, and Aulus Gratius Potens, soldier of the XXII legion, fire officer, erected it. The brothers dedicated it when (Marcus Pupienus) Africanus was consul.

Altar with inscription of Bingen


  • G. Behrens. Ein Mithräum in Bingen